The National voted Festival Act of the Year 2019

The National @ Lowlands 2019
Photo credit: Kamiel Scholten / Festileaks

This post is also available in: Nederlands

The National have been chosen as Festival Act of the Year 2019. A record number of 13,131 votes were cast for Festileaks’ annual competition. The top 3 is complete with The Cure and Tame Impala.

The National are the sixth winner of our yearly Festival Acts Top 100 competition. Past winners are Pearl Jam (2018), Radiohead (2017), De Staat (2016), Muse (2015) and Arcade Fire (2014).

1. The National

The National outdid themselves this summer. Whether it was at Mad Cool in Spain, Sziget in Hungary, or one of the many other European festivals. For their previous album, Sleep Well Beast (2017), The National received a Grammy, and this year’s I Am Easy to Find also contains instant classics like ‘Rylan’ and the beautiful ‘Light Years’. The setlist is really more complete than ever. The band received one ecstatic review after the other, but now there is the well-deserved crown: The National are the Festival Act of the Year 2019.

2. The Cure

They played at about forty festivals this summer, including nearly all of Europe’s biggest. Glastonbury, Rock Werchter, Pinkpop, NOS Alive – the show was spot on every time. They are not the average festival headliner: without fireworks, no CO2 cannons or even real festival anthems. Still, their marathon sets of 2,5 hours blew everyone away. Active for more than forty years, and still on top of the world. The Cure are a deserved second place in the Festival Acts Top 100 of 2019.

3. Tame Impala

The expected new album did not come when planned, so we were wondering: will Tame Impala be able to surprise? Answer: yes. The setlist built on old gems, completed with the occasional new work, always did an excellent job. Massive opener ‘Let It Happen’, many many lasers, and a guest appearance by A$AP Rocky at Lowlands were the formula for success. A trip without drugs. We are already looking forward to the proper festival tour of 2020.

Festival Acts Top 100 of 2019

  1. The National
  2. The Cure
  3. Tame Impala
  4. De Staat
  5. Balthazar
  6. Muse
  7. Thom Yorke Tomorrow’s Modern Boxes
  8. Rowwen Hèze
  9. Vampire Weekend
  10. Foals
  11. New Order
  12. Foo Fighters
  13. Mumford & Sons
  14. Fleetwood Mac
  15. Editors
  16. Janelle Monáe
  17. Tool
  18. Billie Eilish
  19. Royal Blood
  20. Underworld
  21. Franz Ferdinand
  22. IDLES
  23. Twenty One Pilots
  24. Elbow
  25. The Good, the Bad & the Queen
  26. Robyn
  27. The 1975
  28. Fontaines D.C.
  29. Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals
  30. White Lies
  31. Tenacious D
  32. Nothing But Thieves
  33. Bon Iver
  34. Bastille
  35. Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes
  36. De Jeugd van Tegenwoordig
  37. Parcels
  38. Within Temptation
  39. Navarone
  40. Bring Me the Horizon
  41. Armin van Buuren
  42. Florence + the Machine
  43. Slipknot
  44. Rosalía
  45. Indian Askin
  46. Heideroosjes
  47. Weezer
  48. Kraantje Pappie
  49. Oscar and the Wolf
  50. Lenny Kravitz
  51. Dropkick Murphys
  52. Kraftwerk
  53. Slayer
  54. Ed Sheeran
  55. Ry X
  56. The Raconteurs
  57. Joost
  58. Greta Van Fleet
  59. Johnny Marr
  61. Jungle
  62. Big Thief
  63. Stormzy
  64. Weval
  65. Die Antwoord
  66. Macklemore
  67. dEUS plays ‘The Ideal Crash’
  68. Maribou State
  69. Eels
  70. Jon Hopkins
  71. Interpol
  72. Modeselektor Live
  73. P!nk
  74. MY BABY
  75. Prophets of Rage
  76. James Blake
  77. A$AP Rocky
  78. Inhaler
  79. The Chemical Brothers
  80. Tamino
  81. Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls
  82. Paul Kalkbrenner
  83. Danny Vera
  84. Slash ft. Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators
  85. Bear’s Den
  86. Jorja Smith
  87. Skunk Anansie
  88. Khruangbin
  89. Krezip
  90. John Fogerty
  91. The Vaccines
  92. Lizzo
  93. Whispering Sons
  94. Christine and the Queens
  95. Richard Ashcroft
  96. The Smashing Pumpkins
  97. Sabaton
  98. The Strokes
  99. The Opposites
  100. DeWolff

Thank you for voting for the Festival Acts Top 100 of 2019. See you again next year!